Tuesday, May 10, 2011

Video Games and Crime Fiction...together at last.

Some huge names have written stories in conjunction with the release of a new video game. (Oates, Lansdale, Block) Frustratingly this collection will only be for sale as an ebook collection. That aside however, they have done quite a nice job creating pulp-style covers, it's a neat way to reach a new audience and it means new stories for us! 

Rockstar Video Games' logo

"In honor of L.A. Noire, Rockstar Games and Mulholland Books have teamed up to create a collection of short stories that celebrate detective fiction and the genre's contemporary masters. Readers will enjoy eight original short fiction stories, many of which revisit the characters and cases in the game, providing a new spin to tell the tales of emotionally torn protagonists, depraved schemers and ill-fated victims.

With original short fiction selections by Lawrence Block, Duane Swierczynski, Joe R. Lansdale, Jonathan Santlofer, Joyce Carol Oates, Francine Prose, Megan Abbott, and Andrew Vachss, these stories expand upon the world of L.A. Noire.
 Below you can read our latest full story, "Hell of an Affair" by Duane Swierczynski, as well as our first full story, "What's In A Name" by Jonathan Santlofer. Both are available as either a downloadable PDF or via our online reader. Look for more works from the collection to be released here leading up to and through the release of L.A. Noire on May 17th.
 On June 6th, look for the release of the complete L.A. Noire: The Collected Stories to be available at all major eBook retailers. Residents of the US and Canada can pre-order their copies now for $0.99 (coming soon for the UK and Australia)."

More details can be found at rockstargames.com(link). You can download and read Duane Swierczynski's short story here and Megan Abbott's here. I recommend just heading over to the site though, for navigation's sake.

No comments:

Post a Comment